Exploring Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Having looked at the first 4 Sutras in the last newsletter, we’re going to jump to 1.12 to 1.16 that delve into the fundamental yogic principles of ‘practice’ and ‘non-attachment’ (abhyasa and vairagya). We learnt

Living the 8 Limbs – the third of the Yamas – Asteya

“asteya pratisthayam sarva ratna upasthanam” When non-stealing (asteya) is established, all jewels, or treasures present themselves, or are available to the Yogi. Yoga Sutra 2.37 In Sanskrit - A = not, Steya = stealing. This

Living the 8 Limbs – the second of the Yamas – Satya

“satya pratisthayam kriya phala ashrayatvam” “As truthfulness (satya) is achieved, the fruits of actions naturally result according to the will of the Yogi.” Yoga Sutras 2:35 This Yama is a commitment to truthfulness. Satya literally

Living the 8 Limbs – the first of the Yamas – Ahimsa

“ahimsa pratishthayam tatsamnidhau vairatyagah” “around one who is solidly established in non violence, hostility disappears” Yoga Sutra 2:35 Ahimsa is the first of five specific ethical precepts, in Yoga we call these precepts ‘yamas’. The

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali – 1.4

While it can take a lifetime (or 3!) to understand, absorb and integrate the teachings of the Sutras, the core essence can be found in just the first four Sutras. Patanjali lays out the aim

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Having focused on each of the 8 Limbs in previous newsletters, we are now going to delve deeper into the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. In future newsletters we plan to explore the various translations of

Living the 8 Limbs, the fifth of the niyamas: Isvara Pranidhana – Surrender to God’s will

Before we look at the essence of this, the last of the niyamas, let’s just deal with the ‘God’ word. Yoga does not promote any religion. There is no requirement to believe in God, or

Living the 8 Limbs, the fourth of the niyamas – Svadhyaya, self study

For most of us, Svadhyaya starts on the mat. We begin to study ourselves as we practice asana: our thoughts, our emotions, our reactions, our habits and our intentions. Then we see how this is

Living the 8 Limbs – the third of the niyamas: Tapas

The most common translation of Tapas is ‘self discipline’. For the yogi the heart of this is the self-discipline to practice, ideally every day. We come back to the mat day after day despite what

Living the 8 Limbs – the second of the niyamas: Santosha

“Be content with what you have; rejoice in the way things are. When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you.” – Lao Tzu We continue our journey through the 8